catalyst2 community forums  

Go Back   catalyst2 community forums > Support > Domain Name Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2004, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: England
Posts: 6
Scams

I'd just like to warn you that there is a dodgy scam going round at the moment whereby people are being sent warnings (through the post) that their domain names are due to expire and you can make sure your domain doesn't run out by sending the company some money.

The company has a front called "European Domain Registrars" and "Domain Registration Services" and asks for £60 for 2 years.

If you receive such a letter then DO NOT SEND MONEY- instead call Cambridge police on 01480 456 111.

Hope this note stops some of you making the same mistake as me!

Cheers,

Russ.
rustytulip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2004, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Jacob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,299
Just for future reference, if you ever see anything, hear about anything or get sent anything a good place to check out whether or not it is true is by typing the details into google, and a site - snopes.com .

Regards,

Jacob
Jacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2004, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 71
hey cheers jacob for putting that site up, I had a suspicous order (can only give their card details over email, from nigeria) and its explained on there, and all the people that were cought out, nice to know I didn't tell them to get lost for no reason
mhammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.