![]() |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Ickle One
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: north lincolnshire
Posts: 67
|
SPAM on the increase
I've a few clients keep sending messages saying they are up to 120 -150 spam email per day.
Has CAT2 got any spam filters on the server? I've been lookng in the merak settings and there does appear to be some bits to do with spam, but I am a bit stumped as to how to set it up. Any ideas??? Kate |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,299
|
Hi Kate,
The spam filter is not currently enabled on the server as it causes the server to become unstable. At the moment, we would suggest a client side filter however we are investigating other server side solutions at the moment. Regards, Jacob
__________________
Jacob Colton jacob@catalyst2.com Open a ticket | Knowledgebase | Rate catalyst2 | Review catalyst2 |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Ickle One
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: north lincolnshire
Posts: 67
|
Yes, I use thunderbird. My client however uses Outlook Express and apart from setting up filters based on the subject line or sender periodically I don't know of any easy way to get over the issue.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 88
|
K9 is meant to be quite good, and works with any email client, so should work with OE.
It does require 'training' though, so don't expect 100% success rate just after installing! ![]() http://keir.net/k9.html |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21
|
Seems wierd that after several months of absolute quiet I'm starting to get Spam coming through. I guess it really is the downside of making an emaill address public
![]() I'm, thinking of making a standard ASP "Email Me" page so that users can enter a subject and simple text and their reply email address and hit a Post button that emails me, that way my address remains hidden. I can try and make this generic so that a simple change to a config file will allow it to be used by anyone. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Test Supervisor
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ashopton
Posts: 212
|
What I have noticed concerning some recent spam emails :
1. they appear to come from various IPs: 60.176.201.15 85.219.236.12 71.113.208.126 (probably either spoofed or open relays) 2. they connect directly to orange.active-ns.com (i.e there isn't the usual list of several mailservers that its been thru) 3. they don't have genuine email headers i.e. no 'to', 'from', 'subject' or indeed any 'body' Could the cat2 mailservers be configured to detect the 'blank' headers and bin the emails please? Last edited by Phil; 22-06-2006 at 07:51 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Bring me your problems :p
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: /dev/ahhhhhhhhh
Posts: 3,537
|
Moving to us wont produce more spam
You may find your customers are now using catch all email accounts, and so emails to addresses other than their own are now being downloaded into their account. |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Bring me your problems :p
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: /dev/ahhhhhhhhh
Posts: 3,537
|
The problem with widespread server side filtering on this scale is you cant keep everyone happy, and currently the control panels dont allow for us to turn this feature on and off as needs be.
We had a meeting with an anti-spam vendor on friday who have some very exciting products, however this would be an additional cost to protect each domain. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) | |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,299
|
Hi Stephen,
As I said earlier in this thread: Quote:
Regards, Jacob
__________________
Jacob Colton jacob@catalyst2.com Open a ticket | Knowledgebase | Rate catalyst2 | Review catalyst2 |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|